What is the geographic center of Greece



The colors of the flag, blue and white, are also the Greek national colors: blue stands for the sky and the sea, white for the purity of the Greeks' struggle for independence. The cross stands for the Christian faith. There is a reason that the flag has exactly nine stripes: The Greek motto "Eleutheria e Thanatos" ("Peace or Death") has nine syllables.

Surname: Greece / Ellinikí Dhimokratía (Greek)

Identifier: GR (Internet: .gr)

Currency: Euro (€)

History: Ancient Greece began around the 8th century BC. BC Ancient Greece, Hellas, was the spiritual and cultural center of the western world. The knowledge of ancient Greek society has shaped European culture to this day. For example, democracy was invented by Greek state philosophers. From 146 BC. BC Greece becomes a Roman province and increasingly loses its power and ultimately its independence through the occupation of the Romans. The country remained occupied for almost 2000 years and only became independent again in 1830. During World War II, Greece was occupied by Germans, Italians and Bulgarians. From 1967 to 1974, Greece was ruled by a military dictatorship. Greece has been a parliamentary democracy since 1974.


Surface: Total: 131,957 km²

Limits: 1,228 km: Albania (282 km), Bulgaria (494 km), Turkey (206 km), Macedonia (246 km)

Coastline: 13,676 km

Deepest point: The Mediterranean (0 m a.s.l.)

The highest point: Mount Olympus (2,917 m a.s.l.)


Population: 10.72 million (2019)

Ethnic groups: Greeks (93%), Others (7%

Religions: Christians (98%), Muslims (1.3%), others (0.7%)

Languages: Greek


Form of government: Parliamentary democracy:
The citizens in a democracy (Greek for popular rule) elect representatives for a certain period of time, who then make decisions “in the name of the people”.

National holiday:

March 25 (1821): Independence Day

Capital: Athens

Regions: 13 Regions:

  • East Macedonia and Thrace