Who will win the Nations League 2019

UEFA Nations League

After the European football association UEFA introduced the new Nations League for the first time in 2018, it is now an integral part of international football every two years. Every year of a World Cup or European Championship, the Nations League is played after the major tournament, with the games for the final places and the qualifying playoffs being played in the following year.

We have compiled general information about the Nations League for you on this page. You can find more information about the respective requirements on the following linked pages:

Four leagues with 3-4 groups each

All 55 member associations of UFEA take part in the Nations League. There are a total of four leagues (A, B, C, D), with League A being the highest division and League D being the lowest. While three teams each fight for promotion or relegation to the next higher or lower league in league A and B, this applies to four teams in league C and D - with the exception of group 1 of league C.

💸 Nations League Betting 💸

In the first UFEA Nations League edition, the UEFA coefficient rankings were used to draw the leagues and groups. The leagues drawn are the basis for the next edition of the competition, whereby, as already mentioned, the last of each group is relegated to a lower league and the group winners compete one league higher the next time.

If, for example, a nation in the Nations League 2018/19 is relegated from League A to League B and then wins a group of this Division B in the 2020/21 edition, the nation will return to League A in 2023/24 find his.

How do you win the UEFA Nations League?

After the group stage of the Nations League has ended in November of each edition, the winner of the Nations League will be determined the following summer. The four group winners of Division A move into the Final Four finals and play for the title in two semi-finals and one final.

However, the winner of the UEFA Nations League will not be awarded a fixed starting place at the next World Cup or European Championship. And that brings us to the next question:

How do you qualify for a World Cup or European Championship?

The Nations League was created by UEFA not only to replace “senseless” international test matches, but above all to make international matches more attractive again. The so-called Nations League Playoffs were introduced for this purpose. Four nations can secure starting places for the next upcoming final round via the play-offs.

A total of 16 teams that have not yet been able to qualify for the next European or World Championships via the regular qualification are fighting for these 4 starting places. Each league gets at least one starting place. This means that even a team from League D - the weakest league - will definitely make it to the next finals.