Andrew Whitworth is a Hall of Famer

The team of the decade

The NFL has announced its "All Decade Team" for the years 2010-2019. The 55-man class (53 players / 2 coaches) was elected in the last few weeks by the 48-person selection committee that is normally allowed to determine the members for the Hall Of Fame.

Eight players were unanimously accepted into the team: Quarterback Tom Brady, Defensive Tackle Aaron Donald, Linebacker Von Miller, Running Back Adrian Peterson, Offensive Tackle Joe Thomas, Kicker Justin Tucker, Defensive End J.J. Watt and Guard Marshal Yanda found themselves on all 48 sheets.

The division with the most players is NFC West, which has nine players from the four teams. Most of the team members are the Seahawks (Bobby Wagner, Richard Sherman, Earl Thomas, Marshawn Lynch and Coach Carroll) and Patriots (Tom Brady, Stephen Gostkowski, Rob Gronkowski, Logan Mankins and Coach Belichick).

Belichick and Brady were already in the "All Decade Team" from 2000-2009, as were Kick Returner Devin Hester, Punter Shane Lechler and Defensive End Julius Peppers.

You could miss quarterback Drew Brees, Edge Rusher Terrell Suggs, left tackle Andrew Whitworth tight end Jason Witten, quarterback Russell Wilson or wide receiver A.J. Green. However, the chosen players are all absolutely understandable.

Here is the full list:

Wide receiver Antonio Brown
Wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald
Wide receiver Calvin Johnson
Wide receiver Julio Jones
Tight end Rob Gronkowski
Tight end Travis Kelce
Tackle Jason Peters
Tackle Tyron Smith
Tackle Joe Staley
Tackle Joe Thomas
Guard Jahri Evans
Guard Logan Mankins
Guard Zack Martin
Guard Marshal Yanda
Center Alex Mack
Center Maurkice Pouncey
Quarterback Tom Brady
Quarterback Aaron Rodgers
Running back Frank Gore
Running back Marshawn Lynch
Running back LeSean McCoy
Running back Adrian Peterson
Flex Darren Sproles

End Calais Campbell
End Cameron Jordan
End Julius Peppers
End J.J. watt
Tackle Geno Atkins
Tackle Fletcher Cox
Tackle Aaron Donald
Tackle Ndamukong Suh
Linebacker Chandler Jones
Linebacker Luke Kuechly
Linebacker Khalil Mack
Linebacker from Miller
Linebacker Bobby Wagner
Linebacker Patrick Willis
Cornerback Patrick Peterson
Cornerback Darrelle Revis
Cornerback Richard Sherman
Safety Eric Berry
Safety Earl Thomas
Safety Eric Weddle
Defensive back Chris Harris
Defensive back tyrant Mathieu

Punter Johnny Hekker
Punter Shane Lechler
Kicker Stephen Gostkowski
Kicker Justin Tucker
Punt returner Tyreek Hill
Punt returner Darren Sproles
Kick returner Devin Hester
Kick returner Cordarrelle Patterson

HEAD coaches
Coach Bill Belichick
Coach Pete Carroll

Carsten Keller - April 8th, 2020

The election as "Coach of the Decade" could actually have made Bill Belichick smile again ... (© Carsten Keller)

Readers' rating of this post: