Did someone delete me on Snapchat?

This is how you can find out if someone deleted your conversation on Snapchat

Social media is a minefield. People take offense at the stupidest things and even the most innocent comment can be blown beyond measure. It is a process of becoming familiar with the dangers and dangers of social networks. At TechJunkie, we want to help you with that. Today we're going to discuss how to tell if someone deleted your conversation on Snapchat.

This piece was sparked by a major discussion about Snapchat that raised some questions within the team. Even though we're all seasoned social networkers, there were still things we didn't know about. Some of the questions that came up are listed below.

Can you tell if someone deleted your conversation on Snapchat?

No. Chats will disappear after 24 hours anyway and if the person you are chatting with has a deletion you will not be notified and nothing will happen at the end of the app.

Deleting your conversations isn't necessarily a snub. If the person is a heavy Snapchat user, they may need to delete the app to keep things manageable. You can also be in the mood for some spring cleaning and clearing out all the old chats. Anyway, unless they tell you they deleted your conversation that you would never know.

If I remove someone as a friend, can they still see the last message I sent?

Yes. Once the message is received by the other person, you lose control of it. The server has sent the message to the other person's device and is no longer in their or your hands. There is a hack that works and some third party apps that say they work. I tried a couple of apps and they didn't work. The hack does, but it's a pain.

You can delete an ex-boyfriend's last message by deleting your own Snapchat account. It's a little drastic, but as part of the process, the platform will delete your messages, apparently even messages that have already been delivered. I haven't tried this as I'm using my account but others on the team assure me it works.

Can someone tell if you're forwarding their Snapchat to someone else?

No. Snapchat doesn't notify the original person who created the story that it was forwarded. It tells them who saw it first, but not what happens afterwards. I tested this while preparing this piece and received no notification when someone forwarded a story of mine.

Can you block someone's Snapchat history without removing them as a friend?

No, as cool as your boyfriend is, not all of their stories are going to be interesting to you. Blocking is a little serious, and as far as our shared knowledge goes, you can't block Stories. However, you can skip them. Just swipe left when the story pops up and Snapchat moves on to the next. From a social point of view, this is a much easier and safer option as no one will be offended.

'We are sorry! Username not found "Have I been banned?

Surprisingly, only one of us saw this message. This tells us that we're either all boring and harmless, or we're forgiving friends. What does the message tell us? If you see Sorry! Username Not Found "usually means that you have been blocked by that person. Instead of telling you in plain English, Snapchat thought it would be a gentler disappointment if they just said the app couldn't find them.

What and how can chats be deleted in Snapchat?

You can of course delete all chats and stories on your side of the app, but not once they have been received by other people. If you want to clean up and clear conversations in the spring, you can delete your chat feed.

To clean up your chat feed:

  1. Open Snapchat and select the ghost icon in the top left.
  2. Select the menu icon (gear) to access the settings.
  3. Scroll to Delete Conversations Within Account Actions.
  4. In the next window, tap the "X" next to the conversations to delete them.

You can also delete your stories if you want. They self self-destruct after 24 hours, but if you want to speed it up, you can.

  1. Open Snapchat and swipe left to My Stories.
  2. Select the story you want to delete from the list.
  3. Select the little down arrow at the bottom of the story.
  4. Select the trash can icon and confirm.

This will delete it from Snapchat with immediate effect. If someone is already looking at it, it will be able to exit, but once it is closed it will go away.

We take a lot of knowledge for granted, especially things we use every day. We can use Snapchat all the time, but as our discussion showed, there are things we can all learn.

Do you have any other Snapchat tips that you want to share? Tell us about it when you do!